Dora Martinez receives the Field Supervisor of the Year Award from Executive Director Shannon Maynard. AlloAfricaNews

The 2019 Hunger Leadership Awards were presented on Tuesday, July 9, 2019, at Union Station Columbus Club, in Washington, DC. The event was designed to recognize and honor exemplary leaders working to end hunger and poverty in the United States and around the world. Senator Todd Young and Congressman Collin Peterson are among the distinguished Award recipients this year. Attendees included Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee. Member of the board of directors of the Congressional Hunger Center, the congresswoman from Texas told reporter Ben Bangoura that Africa has the potential to become the breadbasket of the world.

Attendees of the 2019 Hunger Leadership Awards in Washington, DC. AlloAfricaNews